Milano, 11 novembre 2021

Ventesimo anniversario del Dipartimento di Chimica, Materiali e Ingegneria Chimica “Giulio Natta”

The "Giulio Natta" Department of Chemistry, Materials and Chemical Engineering of Politecnico di Milano celebrates its twentieth anniversary. The Department has picked up the legacy of the former Institutes of General Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry and Electrochemistry of the Politecnico di Milano, which were merged in 2001.

Since its inception, thanks to a constant dialogue with the business world, the chemical research performed by the Politecnico has achieved many of its results in the sphere of objects for everyday use. Examples include polypropylene, invented by Giulio Natta (Nobel Prize in 1963), the Spyro code, used in all pyrolysis reactors in refineries all over the world, the studies performed for DeNOx to detect nitrogen oxides from flue gas (precursors of the diesel catalytic converter) or the research carried out on cathodic protection as a corrosion inhibitor.

The twentieth anniversary provided an opportunity to reflect on the future prospects of research in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Engineering and Biological Engineering, the four areas covered by the Department.

The Head of Department, MariaPia Pedeferri told us «The celebrations for the twentieth anniversary were an occasion to meet again and share our perspectives after two years of pandemic. During this time, our department has never stopped performing research, and has also made a valuable contribution to managing the Covid emergency, participating in many actions, including the production of POLICHINA, the sanitising liquid still distributed by Politecnico di Milano». 

CMIC Day | Agenda:

Saluto e introduzione del Direttore - prof.ssa MariaPia Pedeferri, e del Responsabile Gestionale - Samuele Paolo Bordogna | Presentazione

CMIC New prospectives

intervengono i Coordinatori di Sezione:

prof. Carlo Punta (Sezione di Chimica) | Presentazione
prof. Alessio Frassoldati (Sezione di Ingegneria Chimica) | Presentazione
prof. Francesco Migliavacca (Sezione di Ingegneria Biologica) | Presentazione
prof.ssa Chiara Castiglioni (Sezione di Scienza e Ingegneria dei Materiali) |  Presentazione

presenteranno le loro traiettorie di ricerca i nuovi professori ordinari:

prof. Giancarlo Terraneo Presentazione
prof. Carlo Punta | Presentazione
prof.ssa Selena Sironi Presentazione
prof. Flavio Manenti | Presentazione
prof.ssa Silvia Farè | Presentazione
prof. Christian Vergara | Presentazione
prof. Luca Magagnin Presentazione
prof.ssa Chiara Bertarelli Presentazione

CMIC Stories

intervengono gli ex-direttori: prof. Alberto Cigada, prof. Mario Dente, prof. Stefano Servi, prof. Renato Rota e prof. Maurizio Masi | Presentazione